What Does My Best Creative Work Look Like?

I don't really set "New Year's Resolutions" for myself. I tend to find that a few weeks later I've forgotten about whatever it was that I was all hyped for and gone back into the routines of life. But I do like to sit down and take stock of what's going on in my life, if there's anything I want to change, or focus on in the next year.

2014 was all about traveling and exploring, both what was around me as well as farther away. I saw parts of DC and Baltimore that I had never seen, got acquainted with the state park by my house, and visited a country I had never been to. Travel isn't going to slow down by any means( my wife and I already have almost of my PTO for the year planned out on trips) but I was trying to think about what I needed to focus on for myself this year while I reflected on last year.
Ireland
It finally hit me the other day. I'm a big fan of Shawn Blanc's work. Stuff like Tools and Toys and The Sweet Setup are some of my favorite sites and are always inspirational reads. One of the things that he talks about a lot on his podcast is "doing your best creative work." I was listening to a recent episode and it got me thinking. What does my best creative work look like?

At first it was easy to kind of dismiss. I mean, I work in Information Security as a technical writer. Not a lot of room for creative anything on the surface of it. But the more I thought about it, the more it nagged at me. What does my best creative work look like? I started to drop "creative" out of the phrase, but that bothered me even more than the original question. The whole reason I got into InfoSec is that it presented constantly changing challenges and opportunities to learn. Lots of room for creativity there.

So I'm still not sure what my best creative work is. That's not to say that I haven't done good work before in the past. But has it been my best?

So that's what I'm working on this year. It seems a little weird or lofty to write out, but there it is.