Returning to Paper

My last year of college, I got my first iPad and immediately switched to writing all of my notes on there. It was rather convenient for all the history classes I was taking, since I could have the book we were studying and all my notes in a single place. I could dump all of my notes into Evernote and didn't have to think about it.

When I started as a traveling consultant, I was given a Moleskine that I used for client notes and the like, but it was kind of a last resort sort of thing for me. I largely preferred to have my notes in digital form. Lately, however, I've been drawn to doodling down my notes and outlines back in my notebooks again, so I thought it might be good to change things up a little bit.

Moleskine

I picked up my first set of Field Note notebooks, a special edition set of Unexposed, because if I'm going to go, I'm going all the way. These things are pretty awesome. Small enough to fit into the breast pocket of a jacket or the back pocket of my jeans, and I'm certainly not going to misplace them with colors like these.
unexposed

I'm finding it really nice to have a little notebook in my pocket all the time now. All those little things that pop into my head and used to just occupy a giant text document on my phone feel a little more tangible now, and it's great for outlining blog post ideas and the like.

I'm trying out Field Notes because they're kind of the standard for these small notebooks, but I'd also love to check out Baron Fig, if this little experiment works out. And I don't see it not, there's something timeless about paper, and I'm excited about returning there.